Home Alone

I am spending my first night alone in a year and a half. It’s bizarre. 

I’m not lonely, but I feel a bit weird. Prior to CJ and I moving in together in July of 2007, I lived completely on my own for over two years. I loved it. I did what I wanted when I wanted, decorated everything exactly the way I wanted it, made all of my decisions on my own and organized things how they were the most convenient for myself. I was pretty convinced I’d be happy that way forever if necessary. My friend (at the time) Meg used to absolutely baffle me by staying at her parents’ house every time her husband was away for a few days for work; she claimed she didn’t like being alone in her house.

Then CJ suggested moving in together. In the time that has ensued, pretty much everything in my life has become intertwined in some way or another with his. And I actually like it… it’s nice having a companion, especially one as incredible as him. Today I have kept myself very busy and entertained and I have a full day scheduled tomorrow, but I feel sort of like a limb has fallen asleep or something. It is so, so, so bizarre.

Leave a comment